Local scholarship award winners recognised at Parliament

Local scholarship award winners recognised at Parliament

Epsom news
Thursday, May 7, 2015

The 2014 New Zealand Scholarship Awards have just been presented and National MP, Hon Paul Goldsmith, was excited to be there as top students and premier scholars were recognised and celebrated for their achievements.

“I’m thrilled local students Jonathan Luke Hart and Rahul Sood from Auckland Grammar School received both Premier and Top Subject Scholar Awards, and Jane Sun Waterhouse and Doris Zhang from Epsom Girls’ Grammar School received Top Subject Scholar Awards,” Mr Goldsmith said.

“Local recipients of the Outstanding Scholar Awards are: Zoe Chen from St Cuthbert’s College, Shuyu Guo from Diocesan School for Girls, Rebecca Holland from St Cuthbert’s College, Samantha Jacobson from Diocesan School for Girls, Myron Liu from Auckland Grammar School , Thealyssa Ng from St Cuthbert’s College and Catherine Zheng from St Cuthbert’s College.

“This is out of almost 8,000 students who participated in New Zealand Scholarship exams last year.

“All the award winners should feel very proud of what they have achieved.  A scholarship is wonderful recognition of hard work.

“These scholarships will provide financial support to students over the next three years to continue studying at a higher level.  It means there will be no financial barrier which could stop these talented students from going on to achieve even more success.

“I believe education is the best base for success in the working world and I’m glad to be here among so many students who already recognise the value of their education and who are working hard for it.

“National believes ensuring every child gets a good education is one of the most important things we can do to raise living standards, and build a more competitive and productive economy,” Mr Goldsmith said.

A full list of the 2014 New Zealand Scholarship Award winners can be found at: http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/about-us/news/2014-nz-scholarship-results-now-available

Photo: Premier Scholars Jonathan Hart and Rahul Sood, both of Auckland Grammar School, and their families. With fellow old boys Hon Paul Goldsmith, National MP based in Epsom and Hon Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga, MP for Maungakiekie.