MPs congratulates local schools on forming learning communities for our kids

Epsom news
Tuesday, December 16, 2014

From term one next year, our local students at Auckland Grammar School, Auckland Normal Intermediate, Cornwall Park District School, Epsom Grammar School, Kohia Terrace School and Newmarket School will be part of a community of schools,” says National List MP Hon Paul Goldsmith.

“In Mt Roskill, our local students at Maungawhau School will be part of a community of schools,” says National List MP Dr Parmjeet Parmar.

"The schools in Epsom and Mt Roskill will join the Auckland Central community of schools. This is one of the eleven communities across the country.

Local students will benefit from shared teaching practices and expertise,” Mr Goldsmith says.

“I am pleased that our schools will have the opportunity to work together to achieve even more for our kids.

“All parents want to see their children lead happy, successful lives. National believes giving every child the best education possible will help achieve that.

“We introduced National Standards so parents, teachers, and principals would know how students are doing at school.

“Now, we are implementing our $359 million Investing in Educational Success initiative to lift achievement in Kiwi schools by helping schools share their best resources – their teachers and principals.”

“The establishment of a new community of schools will be excellent for local students. Their education will benefit from an increased level of collaboration between schools,” Dr Parmar says. 

“Evidence shows quality of education and school leadership are the two most important factors in a child’s education, so we are supporting those areas.
“We want to see greater collaboration among schools, improved transition through the education system for children, and better career pathways for early childhood and primary teachers.

“We’re making sure all kids have their very best shot at succeeding in education by improving the quality of teaching and leadership in our schools.

“I want to thank and acknowledge the Minister of Education, Hon Hekia Parata, and the education sector for their work in establishing these communities of schools.”